Barry Goldwater Scholarships

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate.

The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue research careers in these fields.

Recent Recipients

2023: Jack Lyons

2019: Shae Machlus

2001:  Keola Wierschem

2000:  Daniel Roberts

1999:  Johan E. Gonzales, Christina J. White

1998:  Minesh Bacrania

1996:  Gabriel Bouch

1995:  Will Huttner, Darren Oldsen

1993:  James Thompson

1991:  Mark Beeman

1990:  Michael Owens

Will Huttner, Darren Oldsen, and Gabriel Bouch also majored in mathematics while Minesh Bacrania also majored in meteorology.

Keenan Pepper received Honorable Mention in the Goldwater competition in 2007